User Login

Login Access

Search the Collections

Spotlight on History

Louisiana Inaugurations

In honor of Inauguration Day 2016 on January 11, the LDMA is looking back at past Louisiana inaugurations dating back to 1980.  See LPB’s live coverage of the past 9 inaugurations, including the swearing-in of the statewide elected officials, the Governor’s inaugural address, and the celebrations surrounding each ceremony.  You can also see the full 2016 Inauguration of Governor John Bel Edwards.


1980: Gov. Dave Treen
Dave Treen's Inauguration

1984: Gov. Edwin Edwards
1984 Inauguration of Edwin Edwards

1988: Gov. Buddy Roemer
1988 Inauguration of Buddy Roemer

1992: Gov. Edwin Edwards
1992 Inauguration of Edwin Edwards








1996: Gov. Mike Foster
1996 Inauguration of Mike Foster

2000: Gov. Mike Foster
2000 Inauguration of Mike Foster

2004: Gov. Kathleen Blanco
2004 Inauguration of Kathleen Blanco

2008: Gov. Bobby Jindal
2008 Inauguration of Bobby Jindal

2012: Gov. Bobby Jindal
Inauguration of Bobby Jindal