User Login

Login Access

Search the Collections

CODOFIL (1992)

En Français



Genre: French

Place Covered: Louisiana

Copyright Holder: Louisiana Educational Television Authority

Date Issued: 1992-11-01

Duration: 00:25:56

Subjects: French language | Council for the Development of French in Louisiana | Cajun French dialect | Education | French immersion | Le Theatre 'Cadien


  • Goujon, Herve Producer
  • Bertrand, John Interviewee
  • Gustin, Philippe Interviewee
  • Bienvenu, Bo Interviewee
  • Guidry, Dean Interviewee
  • de La Houssaye, Mary Interviewee
  • Zaunbrecher, Tony Interviewee
  • Singer, Mary Keefe Interviewee
  • Munson, Lauralie Interviewee
  • Hackler, Scott Interviewee
  • Blyth, Carl Interviewee
  • Guidry, Jules Interviewee
  • LaFleur, Donna Interviewee
  • Landry, Richard Interviewee
  • Broussard, Earlene Interviewee
  • Arceneaux, William Interviewee


This episode of the series “En Francais” from November 1, 1992, features Herve Goujon’s report on the work of the Council for the Development of French in Louisiana (CODOFIL). It covers: the history of CODOFIL; its impact on education, including French immersion programs; its impact on the culture of the French-speaking people in Louisiana; and the future of the organization under its new director Earlene Broussard. It includes interviews with: John Bertrand, the president of CODOFIL; Philippe Gustin of the Lafayette International Center; Bo Bienvenu, a member of the Cajun French Music Association; Dean Guidry, an advocate; Mary de La Houssaye of CODOFIL in Baton Rouge; Tony Zaunbrecher, the supervisor of language instruction in Calcasieu Parish; Mary Keefe Singer of the Louisiana Department of Education; Lauralie Munson, a French teacher; Scott Hackler, a high school student; Carl Blyth, an LSU French Professor; Jules Guidry of CODOFIL and KRVS in Lafayette; Donna LaFleur, the director of LPB’s “En Francais”; Richard Landry, the president of Le Theatre ‘Cadien; Earlene Broussard, the new director of CODOFIL; and Dr. William Arceneaux, the president of the CODOFIL Foundation.